Men's and Women's Cross Country Teams Have Strong Finishes at Regionals

Men's and Women's Cross Country Teams Have Strong Finishes at Regionals

Glendale, AZ - The women's and men's team competed at the NJCAA Region 1 Cross country championships at glen lakes golf course hosted by Glendale community college. Both programs bettered their team finish from last year. The women captured the Region Championship by 2 points over central Arizona college while the men were Region Runner-Ups distancing themselves from Glendale, Pima, and Paradise Valley.

The women got things going, and were led by sophomore duo Allyson Girard and Samantha Miller as they ran to a All-Region 1st team honors as they 2nd and 3rd place respectively. Following close by were sophomores Adeline Montgomery and Hillary Ogutu coming in at 6th and 7th place, earning 2nd Team All-Region. "I think the girls competed well today. We got out littler faster than we planned, but they fought back and closed hard. With about half a mile to go, we were still down but Sam, Addi, and Hillary closed very fast to move up a lot vaulting us to first place as a team."

The men continued the momentum to earn Runner-Up this year, improving from their last place finish last year. Leading the way was siphomore Zach Harrach in 3rd place earning 1st team All-Region. Also earning 2nd Team All-Region was freshman Carlin Resendez finishing in 13th. "Zach and Carlin ran great races today to help the team get 2nd. Zach made a big leap forward finishing 17th last year to 3rd this year. The rest of the guys really packed it up well and ran a smart team race, from starting in last place as a group and passing throughout the race."

Next up for the Thunderbirds is the Division 1 NJCAA National Championships hosted by butler community college in el dorado, kansas on November 12th.MCC runners:
Women - 5k
18:10 Allyson Girard (2)
18:16 Samantha Miller (3)
18:31 Adeline Montgomery (6)
18:36 Hillary Ogutu (7)
19:32 Savanna Bradshaw
 19:59 Ashlyn Didomenico
20:18 Iris Carbajal
Men 8k- 
24:59 Zach Harrach (3)
26:24 Carlin Resendez (13)
26:46 Angel Torres
26:55 Chris McCoy
27:23 Matt Pena
27:30 Ryan Sisk
27:41 Dylan Kessler

View: Mobile | Desktop